Kylie Minogue’s ‘Dancing’ embraces a country sound

Kylie Minogue’s new single Dancing is out today and she’s just announced her new album Golden will be available in April.

The lead track has a definite country feel, a genre that Kylie’s hardly touched in her long career. She’s certainly embracing her Cowboy Style.

Amazingly this is Kylie’s 72nd single since her music career began in 1987.

Check out Kylie’s latest tune. 

Golden will be available on 6 April worldwide via BMG and Mushroom Group label Liberator Music in Australia and New Zealand. It’ll be Kylie’s first studio album in four years, and her fourteenth studio album.

The album opens with lead single Dancing, which Kylie says sets the tone for what is to come on the album.

“You’ve got the lyrical edge, that country feel, mixed with some sampling of the voice and electronic elements, so it does what it says on the label. And I love that it’s called Dancing, it’s immediately accessible and seemingly so obvious, but there’s depth within the song.”

Earlier this week in a teaser video Kylie said she’d put her heart and soul into making the new record, and it was something very different to her previous recordings.

“I promised my fans that I would be putting my heart and soul into this record and I stayed true to my word. I was able to do that, which was challenging, and fun, and rewarding.”

Kylie’s has described the upcoming album as her most personal to date, and she co-wrote every track on the album.
To make the new record Kylie traveled to Nashville where she collaborated with two British songwriters who are based in Tennessee.

One is Steve McEwan, whose credits include huge country hits for Keith Urban, Kenny Chesney and Carrie Underwood, and the other was Amy Wadge, another Brit, best known for her mega-selling work with Ed Sheeran.

For the rest of the album Kylie collaborated with musicians from around the world including African-German producer Sky Adams, plus Jesse Frasure, Eg White, Jon Green, Biff Stannard, Samuel Dixon, plus Danny Shah and Lindsay Rimes.

The track listing for Golden includes twelve new songs, opening up with Dancing, then Stop Me From Falling, Golden, A Lifetime To Repair, Sincerely Yours, One Last Kiss, Live A Little, Shelby 68, Radio On, L.O.V.E, Raining Glitter and finally Music’s Too Sad Without You, which will feature English singer Jack Savoretti.

OIP Staff

Support OUTinPerth

Thanks for reading OUTinPerth. We can only create LGBTIQA+ focused media with your help.

If you can help support our work, please consider assisting us through a one-off contribution to our GoFundMe campaign, or a regular contribution through our Patreon appeal.

Become a Supporter→     Make a contribution→ 

Tags: , , , , ,