Westlife get ready to release ‘Spectrum’ their first album in 9 years

Fans of Westlife can rejoice the band’s comeback album will be out soon.

Fellow boy band Boyzone might be hanging up their microphones and making a final tour around the world but Westlife are getting back into action.

Spectrum will be the band’s eleventh album and their first release in over nine years. To create their new record the band have team up with some of the top writers and producers in the music business.

Nicky, Kian, Mark and Shane, have reunited, but Brian McFadden who quit the band in 2004 is not included.

Recorded in Dublin, LA and London, the new 11 track album arrived on the exact day the band marked the twentieth anniversary of the release of their first ever UK single Swear It Again, which came out on April 12, 1999.

While they’ve been away from the band the four members have done a variety of things. Mark Feehily released a solo album under his full name Markus Feehily. Kian Egan released an album of country covers, Nicky Byrne has spent time working as a radio and TV presenter, while Shane Filan has put out three solo albums.

Take a listen to ‘Better Man’, one of the singles from the new record.

OIP Staff