Honey, it’s the return of pop goddess Robyn

Fans of pop goddess Robyn can celebrate she’s finally revealed the release date for her long anticipated new album Honey –  it’ll be out on Friday 26th October.

The new work has been a long time coming, Honey will be the singer’s eighth studio album. Her last solo album Body Talk came out in 2010.

In 2012, during the first season of her popular television series Girls, show creator and Robyn super-fan Lena Dunham featured Robyn’s biggest hit Dancing On My Own in a crucial point in the story line. The song placement re-ignited interest in the track which had been released two years earlier.

In late 2016, Lena contacted Robyn and asked if she would consider creating a song specifically for the show’s final season. Already working on new music, she agreed, and sent some ideas to Dunham. She picked a song, and the first incarnation of Honey was introduced to the world.

Over the last two years, Robyn experimented with softer sounds and ideas and brought in Metronomy’s Joseph Mount. She also worked with long-time collaborator Klas Åhlund, Adam Bainbridge (a.k.a Kindness), Mr. Tophat and Zhala, putting it all together in studios in Stockholm, London, Paris, New York and Ibiza.

While Robyn has had a huge break from releasing music she had collaborated with other artists, turing up on tracks with Röyksopp, Neneh Cherry and Todd Rundgren.

Fans have just over a month to wait until her new album drops. Take a listen to Missing U which appears on the new record.

OIP Staff

Tags: , , ,