Pet Shop Boys new album will be out in January and it’s called ‘Hotspot’

The cover of the Pet Shop Boys new album has been revealed and it’s two shadowy figures that are presumably Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe.

The duo’s fourteenth album will be titled Hotspot and fans will be able to get their hands on it on 24th January 2020. The album completes a trilogy of records made with producer Stuart Price.

Price, who has previously worked with Madonna, Kylie Minogue, The Killers, New Order, Take That and Gwen Stefani, produced the Pet Shop Boys’ album Electric in 2013 and follow up Super in 2016.

Hotspot was mostly recorded in Hansa Studios, Berlin, and mixed in The Record Plant, Los Angeles and features ten brand new Tennant/Lowe tracks including the single Dreamland featuring Years & Years, which was released in September.

Another of the songs, Burning the heather, features Bernard Butler on guitar and was recorded at RAK Studios in London. A radio edit of Burning the heather is available now.

Pet Shop Boys said their new album sounded different to their previous work and recording it in Berlin was one the ingredients that contributed to the record.

“We’ve written much of our music over the last ten years in Berlin and it was an exciting experience to work on this album in the legendary Hansa studios there and add a new dimension to our sound.”

The ten tracks that make up the record are Will-o-the-wisp,  You are the one, Happy people, Dreamland (featuring Years & Years), Hoping for a miracle, I don’t wanna, Monkey business, Only the dark, Burning the heather and Wedding in Berlin.
Check out their new tune. 

OIP Staff