GLORIAs: Last chance to vote on most unhelpful comments of 2019

Marking a decade of highlighting the worst of the public conversation surrounding the LGBTIQ+ community, the GLORIAs return later this month.

The awards night names and shames the most outrageous and ignorant comments about the LGBTIQ+ community, in a “boo-off” to decide on the worst of the year – whose name will appear on the Golden GLORIA.

Past winners of the top award include tennis player Margaret Court, conservative columnist Miranda Devine, former Prime Minister Tony Abbott and author Germaine Greer.

The GLORIAs span six categories, including Media, Sport, Politics/Law, Religious, International and Silliest comment from within the community.

This year’s early front-runners include returning nominee Tony Abbott for attempting to take credit for marriage equality, former rugby star Israel Folau and The Australian newspaper for their new ‘Gender’ page; which has been giving a platform to anti-trans voices.

Nominations close today ahead of the GLORIAs ceremony at NSW Parliament on Wednesday 25th September. 

OIP Staff