Home » Archives by category » Culture » Literature

Bibliophile | ‘Deception Creek’ by Fleur McDonald

Deception Creek by Fleur Mc Donald Allen & Unwin The farm called Deception Creek has been in Emma Cameron’s family for three generations. Newly divorced at forty, she couldn’t live anywhere else. Sitting on the verandah as the sun rises gently with pinks and golds spreading across the sky she remembers her father used to […]

Tags: , ,

Claudia Karvan explores ‘The Books That Made Us’

Claudia Karvan explores ‘The Books That Made Us’

Books That Made Us, a new three part series that starts on the ABC on Monday 23rd November explores Australian novels and writers. Actor Claudia Karvan hosts the series and traverses this wide brown land meeting writers and discussing their work. The question on her lips, which Australian books can tell us about ourselves. One […]

Tags:

Read More

Bibliophile | Connor Franta leads search for harmony in ‘House Fires’

House Fires By Connor Franta Atria Books In December, 2014, Connor Franta publicly came out as gay in a YouTube video, stating he had accepted who he was and was “happy with that person”. He spoke about the help he got from others and on the internet and stated that his aim in life was […]

Tags: , , ,

Read More

Bibliophile | Alan Cumming unpacks his ‘Baggage’ with joyous memoir

Baggage by Alan Cumming Canongate In his first memoir Not My Father’s Son, Alan Cumming wrote about having to deal with his sadistic father’s physical and emotional abuse – “a little boy dealing with a very disturbed and dangerous adult man whose splintered psyche rained down such physical and emotional violence it startled even me […]

Tags: , , , ,

Read More

Bibliophile | ‘Caught in the Act’ by Shane Jenek aka Courtney Act

Caught in the Act by Shane Jenek aka Courtney Act Unlike many drag artists, Australians have always known Shane Jenek the man behind the performance. He burst on to our TV screens in 2003 as part of the first season of Australian Idol, first unsuccessfully auditioning as Shane, then later making it through the gatekeepers […]

Tags: , ,

Read More

Bibliophile | ‘Aurora’s End’ is loaded with action and plot-twists

Aurora’s End by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff are the award-winning authors of the Illuminae Files, which have sold more than a million copies across Australia and internationally, and Brad Pitt’s production company has even snapped up the TV rights to the series. It was the first book of the […]

Tags: , , , ,

Read More

Diana Souhami wins the Polari Prize for ‘No Modernism Without Lesbians’

Diana Souhami wins the Polari Prize for ‘No Modernism Without Lesbians’

Author Diana Souhami has won the 2021 Polari Prize for her book No Modernism Without Lesbians. The British based literature award is open to books of any genre that explore the LGBTQ+ experience. Polari refers to the slang language used by gay men to communicate to each other prior to the decriminalisation of homosexuality. Souhami’s well […]

Tags: , ,

Read More

Queer YA novel ‘If This Gets Out’ explores a secret boy band romance

One of the world’s biggest boy bands. A secret love. What happens if the world finds out? If This Gets Out is a queer YA boy band romance from Sophie Gonzales and Cale Dietrich, perfect for fans of Only Mostly Devastated and What If It’s Us. Gonzales is a YA contemporary author of Perfect on Paper […]

Tags: , , , ,

Read More

Bibliophile | Start a journey to wellness with ‘Note To Self Journal’

Note to Self Journal by Rebekah Ballagh Allen & Unwin Rebekah Ballagh is a qualified counselor who created the popular Instagram page called Journey to Wellness – @journey_to_wellness_ – when she wanted students at the school where she was counseling at to have something better than leaflets. Her book is a beautifully illustrated personal toolbox […]

Tags: , ,

Read More

Bibliophile | Contestants play a deadly game in ‘Reprieve’

Reprieve by James Han Mattson Bloomsbury Publishing Quigley House is an old family mansion in Nebraska owned by John Forrester who has created a successful business by constructing scary escape rooms. Teams of four people have to work together to confront their fears in themed closed rooms or cells in order to find envelopes in […]

Tags: ,

Read More