What is that ‘Orange is the New Black’ song?

The third season of the Netflix series ‘Orange is the New Black’ has been released. The whole series can be watched on Netflix, and Foxtel is screening back to back episodes.

If you’ve just caught up on the series through Foxtel’s marathon screening of the first two seasons last weekend, and you’re are working your way through the new series this weekend – that’s a lot of times to hear the show’s opening titles.

Thirty nine times in fact if you binge view the whole three series. We’re guessing a lot of the LGBTIQ community will have Regina Spektor’s ‘You’ve Got Time’ stuck in their heads for a few days.

So we thought it might be great to take a look at this theme tune and a few other well known series openers.

The ‘Orange is the New Black’ theme tune comes from Regina Spektor. Spektor was born in Russia, her family moved to Austria and Italy before she arrrived in the USA as a refugee. Her musical career began in the anti-folk scene of NYC’s East Village.

Spektor recorded the song ‘You’ve Got Time’ specifically for ‘Orange is the New Black’. She’d previously worked with the show’s creator Jenji Kohan on the TV program ‘Weeds’. Spektor covered the show’s opening theme ‘Little Boxes’ for one episode and several of her songs were featured.

Spektor told ‘Rolling Stone‘ magazine that she wrote the song after seeing rough cuts of some of the first episodes filmed.

You can enjoy more her music on her six albums. Her most recent work was 2012’s ‘What We Saw From the Cheap Seats’.

Other Great TV Theme Tunes

Entourage: Jane’s Addiction’s – ‘Superhero’

For eight season’s Entourage started with the track ‘Superhero’ by Janes Addiction. The track was lifted from the band’s third full legth album ‘Strays’ that was released in 2003.

Jane’s Addiction formed in 1985 and quickly built up a cult following. Here in Australia their track ‘Been Caught Stealing’ was often played on the ABC’s RAGE in the early ’90s. The band split in 1991 but has reformed and broken up several times since then.

The band comprises Perry Farrell, Dave Navarro, Stephen Perkins and Chris Channey. Previous members included Eric Avery, Duff McKagan from Guns and Roses, Matrin LeNoble and Flea from the Red Hot Chilli Peppers. Dave Navarro was also in the Red Hot Chilli Peppers for a short period.

Thanks to the success of ‘Entourage’, ‘Superhero’ is now the bands most recognisable song, but it wasn’t even a single when the album came out back in 2003.

Shameless (US version): The High Strung – The Luck You Got

The US version of ‘Shameless’ features ‘The Luck Yu’ve Got’ by The High Strung as it’s theme tune.

The band formed in Detroit, Michigan before moving to Williamsburg in New York. Since 2000 the prolific band have released 15 records. The song borrowed for the opening of ‘Shameless’ is from their 2006 album ‘Moxie Bravo’.

True Blood: Jace Everett – Bad Things

Country singer Jace Everett 2005 single ‘Bad Things’ didn’t get much attention at all when it was first released. Four year later though it was charting around the world, after it was chosen to be the theme tune to the TV series ‘True Blood’.

The country singer now has five albums after his belt and he’s quite popular in Norway.



Tags: , , ,